• Condé Nast International Luxury Conference 2015

Condé Nast International Luxury Conference 2015

2015-08-06
 

The Mayor of Florence, Dario Nardella, welcomed delegates from 36 different nationalities to the inaugural Condé Nast International Luxury Conference 2015 in association with Swarovski and Place Vendôme Qatar. Held in the Salone dei Cinquecento, part of the Palazzo Vecchio, Suzy Menkes, International Vogue Editor, was handed the keys to the City by the Mayor, in recognition of her continued services to the fashion industry, and for the passion Menkes shows towards the City.

 

 

Opening the inaugural event Jony Ive and Marc Newson discussed their goal to make the most beautiful products possible, while ensuring they are consistent by investing care and attention. Discussing the fact both grew up surrounded by traditional craft, this was credited as the reason why they love the skill it takes to put something together. Regarding the Apple Watch, rather than being in competition with the traditional luxury watch marques, Jony and Marc spoke of their focus on developing a beautiful and useful product, with the wrist such a fabulous place for technology, so their motivation was different. The reason they chose one of the materials – the gold – wasn’t due to a predisposed price point, but selected simply because they loved it. Rather than buying it off the shelf, they developed their own gold, which is harder-wearing than traditional gold. Newson remarked he and Jony were at the beginning of a very long journey that will evolve in ways as yet unpredictable. Jony Ive discussed the path they are on in order to make technology approachable, relevant and personal, and if the customer feels ostracized in using the technology, then they would feel they’ve failed. Their intent is to try and take what is remarkable technology and to make it more personal. The fact remains that the Apple Watch will be able to offer things in six months time that can’t be imagined now.

 

 

Karl Lagerfeld spoke of his career, commenting it’s a very healthy thing to live in a high speed professional life, while ensuring you take a moment to concentrate on your work. Lagerfeld stressed one should take no credit for past, there are no second options – you have to think first before making the decision – and to never look back. “I’m not vintage myself,” Lagerfeld said, preferring not to take inspiration from his past, never sourcing from archives, adding “I don’t even know where they are.” Lagerfeld also noted that in the past designers wanted to be socially acceptable, while now they want to be artists. Citing fashion as an applied art designers should not be pretentious, thinking of their work as art, rather creating pieces people want to wear. When asked about working across brands, Lagerfeld commented Fendi was his vision of Italian, while Chanel his vision of French fashion.

 

 

Tory Burch, Chairman, CEO and Designer, talked of the need to ensure the customer has a seamless experience, and technology has a big hand in that, in terms of what the customer wants for the future. 

 

 

David Lauren, Executive Vice President of Global Advertising, Marketing and Corporate Communication, Ralph Lauren Corporation, opened the second day of the inaugural Condé Nast International Luxury Conference in association with Swarovski and Place Vendôme Qatar, discussing how the brand is embracing technology, connecting with new and existing consumers. “Ralph Lauren is about a dream and a vision”, Lauren commented, explaining why the brand has stayed strong for more than fifty years. Lauren spoke of ‘merchantaintment’ (merchandising and entertainment) – a philosophy helping the brand establish itself in the new digital age by merging technology, fashion and art. Through the introduction of the Polo Tech shirt last year at the US Open, the brand realized that as technology is something that affects our daily lives then it is also applicable in the fashion world.

 

 

Alber Elbaz, Artistic Director of Lanvin, asked whether computers could ever replace the creative mind of a fashion designer. Elbaz commented, “fashion is getting softer and softer, but we are not yet a software industry.” Remarking on the location of this year’s Conference, “Florence is the symbol of classicism and art. Florence is about tradition, it is the city of artisanal handwork, know-how and made with love. Florence is about taking the time, making the time and giving the time. Florence is about family business. Technology on the other hand is about new innovation, next is now, repeatedly.”  Elbaz remarked that he doesn’t believe computers will be able to replace designers, as the creative process starts with intuition, and “computers have a brain but no heart”.

 

Iris Van Herpen, a designer leading her field spoke of creating future style from the laboratory and cyber space. Van Herpen collaborates with artists, scientists and biologists to ‘grow clothes literally’ working together to move in to areas that she otherwise couldn’t enter alone.  In conversation with Sophie Hackford, they noted technology will provide a whole new range of tools and materials for craftsmanship, rather than replace it.

 

In a keynote session, Antoine Arnault, CEO of Berluti, referred to that fact that a few years ago a technology company opening a luxury conference would have appeared strange, yet as with other sectors, the luxury industry is being reshaped as world of luxury and technology merges, a co-existence only just beginning. Arnault compared the relationship built with customers via digital as akin to that relationship of the atelier and the customer 100 years ago. However, stores will remain the most critical element of the customer purchase journey. Elements of timelessness will prevail; in 20 years from now people will still drink Dom Perignon, but will they still have iPhones or will there be another product that has taken its place?

 

Nadja Swarovski spoke of the Swarovski 120th anniversary, talking of the changes to the industry over this period of time, the varied creative collaborations the company undertakes with the fashion industry and their sustainable initiatives.

 

Angelica Cheung, Editorial Director of Vogue China spoke of how technology connects with luxury, and how consumers in China are becoming increasingly sophisticated and educated.  Cheung remarked that with greater competition, designers and brands need to ask themselves who they are and what niche they are trying to cater to in order to reach the multi-layered base that makes up the modern Chinese consumer, in the same way that Vogue China has developed expertise and experience in translating international culture and tailoring it to Chinese style. And for the future? Cheung commented “China will continue to grow, to change and evolve at a fast space...the sheer size and scale of China is still worth reiterating”.

 

Geoffroy de la Bourdonnaye, President of Chloé, together with Clare Waight Keller, Creative Director of Chloé, discussed how the brand is using technology to better connect with its customers. De la Bourdonnaye discussed who the ‘Chloé girl’ is today, commenting that their “mission is to unleash the power of the woman”.  Waight Keller noted the importance of the digital world in the way they communicate with their customers, and that they are trying to create more personal and emotional digital campaigns.

 

Related course: BOOST YOUR LUXURY BUSINESS IN CHINA

 

  • Other speakers included:

    Frédéric Cumenal, CEO of Tiffany & Co;

    Michele Norsa, CEO and Group Managing Director, Salvatore Ferragamo;

    Sophie Hackford, Director of Wired Consulting;

    Axel Dumas, CEO, Hermes;

    Albert Bensoussan, CEO Luxury Watches and Jewellery, Kering;

    Delfina Delatrez Fendi, Founder, Delfina Delettrez;

    Eugenie Niarchos, Founder and Creative Director, Venyx;

    Gaia Repossi, Creative Director, Repossi;

    Caterina Occho, Founder, SeeMe;

    Nicholas Bos, President & CEO, Van Cleef & Arpels.

    Isabelle Harvie-Watt, Global CEO, Havas LuxHub and CEO of Havas Media Group Italy;

    Francesco Bottigliero, CEO, Fiera Digitale and e-Pitti.com;

    Reginald Brack, Senior Vice President, International Head of Retail, Watches, Christies;

    Jeremy Scott, Founder, Jeremy Scott and Creative Director, Moschino;

    Anna Dello Russo, Fashion Editor-at-Large, Vogue Japan;

    J W Anderson, Founder, J W Anderson and Creative Director, Loewe;

    Leonardo Ferragamo, Director, Salvatore Ferragamo;

    Stefania Ricci, Director, Salvatore Ferragamo;

    Laudomia Pucci, CEO, Emilio Pucci;

    Eugenio Alphandery, President and Co-Ownder, Officina Profumo Farmaceutica di Santa Maria Novella;

    Ermanno Scervino, Founder and Creative Director, Ermanno Scervino;

    Sung-Joo Kim, Chief Visionary Officer, MCM.

• 首届康泰纳仕国际奢侈品研讨会成功落下帷幕

首届康泰纳仕国际奢侈品研讨会成功落下帷幕

2015-05-13
 

由康泰纳仕主办、施华洛世奇和卡塔尔旺多姆购物中心联合举办的首届康泰纳仕国际奢侈品研讨会在佛罗伦萨的Palazzo Vecchio成功落下帷幕。市长Dario Nardella欢迎了来自36个国家的500多位时尚、奢侈品行业顶级高管,并将“佛罗伦萨城市之匙”授予了Vogue国际编辑Suzy Menkes,以表彰她对时尚行业做出的杰出贡献及对佛罗伦萨这座城市的长久热情。

 

高级设计副总裁Jonathan Ive、顶级设计师Marc Newson

 

研讨会首日由苹果高级设计副总裁Jonathan Ive与Marc Newson致开幕辞。同是深受传统手工艺影响的工业设计师,两人都对创作精美的产品有着狂热的挚爱,并表示苹果将继续把创造最美最高品质产品作为长远的战略目标。谈到苹果公司是否试图与奢侈腕表品牌竞争,Jonathan和Marc表示这并不是他们推出Apple Watch的初衷。手腕作为一个植入科技的绝佳领地,激发了他们在手腕上引入集美观性和实用性为一身的苹果产品的灵感。关于限量推出的18K黄金版Apple Watch,之所以选择黄金作为制作材料也并非大家猜想的定价和定位的考量,而仅仅是两位设计师的偏好。Jonathan说,“因为真正爱这种特殊材质,我们才推出了苹果金表。因为爱,才去做,这是苹果一贯的处世哲学。”出于设计师对完美近乎偏执的追求,他们没有购买现成的黄金材料,而是自己开发比传统黄金坚固两倍的黄金材质。Mark表示,他跟Jonathan令人激动的强强联手这才刚刚开始,之后又会在哪些领域迸发出怎样的火花现在还不得而知。Jonathan说,苹果设计产品的初衷,是将最前沿最高端的科技,无缝地运用在个性化地改善每一个消费者日常生活的层面上。在使科技更加贴近生活、更加实用以及私人化这一道路上,如果不能让消费者体会到科技无声地帮助改善他们的生活,反之,成为他们的负担或是让他们有被排斥的感觉,那么这对苹果而言也就意味着失败。在未来六个月内,Apple Watch将陆续推出更多在今日无法想象的功能。

 

Fendi、Chanel、Karl Lagerfeld创意总监Karl Lagerfeld

 

Karl Lagerfeld在谈及职场生涯时表示,在快节奏的职场生活中将你的精力专注于工作这是一种非常健康的状态。Karl强调,不要沉溺于过去的成就,在做决定前一定要深思熟虑,因为后悔药是不存在的,一但决定就永不回头。“我从不复刻我自己”,Karl说,他不喜欢从过去的作品中寻找灵感,也从不在档案卷中搜寻信息,“我甚至不知道档案存在哪里”。 Karl发现,在过去,设计师们渴望获得社会的认可;而如今,他们更希望成为真正的艺术家。要证明时尚是一种实用艺术,设计师不能太矫饰以致急功近利。与其标榜自己的作品是艺术,不如去创造人们愿意穿着的作品。当被问及为多品牌工作的感受时,Karl表示,Fendi是他对意式风格的诠释;Chanel是他对法式风格的表达;而Karl Lagerfeld,就是他自己。

 

Tory Burch 总裁、首席执行官、设计师Tory Burch

 

Tory Burch作为她同名品牌的总裁、首席执行官和设计师,谈到为顾客提供无缝体验的必要性,以及科技在创造无缝体验时的贡献。Tory表示,愿意做男装系列,但暂时不会立即开始。而之前传言公司IPO上市一事,Tory做出了澄清:“只要我还在公司,绝对不会发生。我对公司上市没有兴趣。长远考虑再做决定,这对我来说很重要。”

 

Ralph Lauren全球广告、市场和企业传播执行副总裁David Lauren

 

Ralph Lauren公司负责全球广告、市场和企业传播的执行副总裁David Lauren讨论了Ralph Lauren如何利用科技建立和维护与新老客户的关系。梦想与视野是Ralph Lauren的品牌精神,也是让Ralph Lauren叱咤行业半个多世纪的秘密。Ralph阐述了将“营销”(Merchandising)与“娱乐”(Entertainment)相结合的 “娱乐化营销”( Merchantaintment),正是这个理念,让Ralph Lauren品牌结合科技、时尚与艺术,在当今的数字化新时代找准了自己的全新定位。介绍去年品牌在美国网球公开赛上推出的智能T恤 “Polo Tech Shirt” 的同时,Ralph也表示,在科技全方位融入与影响我们的日常生活的今天,我们同样可以将它应用到时尚世界中来。

 

Lanvin艺术总监Alber Elbaz

 

Lanvin的艺术总监Alber Elbaz抛出了这样一个问题:有朝一日,电脑是否会取代时装设计师的创意思维?他表示,“时尚确实正变得越来越概念化,但它目前还不是一个完全被电脑软件统治的产业。”提到本届研讨会的举办地佛罗伦萨,Alber评价,“佛罗伦萨是古典主义和艺术的象征。它关乎传统,是一座承载精湛手工技艺、传承经验、以及走心品质的城市。佛罗伦萨舍得投入时间、懂得创造经典,同时也是一座家族生意之城;而科技,则代表着永不停歇的对创新和革命的不懈追求,从这个层面上来说,是传统的对立面。Alber表示他并不认为电脑可以取代设计师,因为创作的过程起源于直觉,而电脑则“有脑无心”。

 

先锋设计师Iris van Herpen谈到了她如何在实验室与网络空间创作与诠释未来风格。Iris同艺术家、科学家和生物学家跨界合作,借由他们的专业知识,在生物服饰领域获得了突破性的成就,能“真正意义上地让衣服生长起来”。在同Sophie Hackford的对话中,两人还指出,科技的进步并不会推翻和替代手工业,反之,科技将为手工业在材料和工具方面开辟全新的领域与无限可能。

 

Berluti的首席执行官Antoine Arnault表示,在几年前,很难想象一个全球顶级的奢侈品研讨会会让一家科技公司致开幕辞。而现在,跟许多其他行业一样,奢侈品行业也被科技的革新重新塑型,科技与奢侈品行业的融合与共生这才刚刚开始。Arnault说,在个性化服务的层面,现在借助数字化渠道达成的品牌与顾客间的关系已经可以比拟100多年前高级定制工坊与来访顾客间的关系了。然而,线下实体店依然是顾客的购买体验中极其关键的元素。历久不衰的经典将依旧受到追捧:二十年后,人们依旧会品啜Dom Perignon,但他们是否还会iPhone不离手,又甚至是否会有新的产品品类替代手机,目前我们就不得而知了。

 

正值施华洛世奇120周年庆,Nadja Swarovski分享了这个行业在120年间的巨大变化、施华洛世奇在可持续时尚方面所做的一贯努力,以及施华洛世奇与时装行业携手的各类创意合作项目。

 

Vogue中国主编张宇谈及了科技与奢侈品行业的联系,以及中国消费者越来越成熟的教育背景、品味以及全方位需求。张宇表示,随着竞争的白热化,设计师和品牌需要重新审视自己的定位以及品牌DNA,找准自己在细分市场上竞争所需的独特亮点,以满足当代中国消费者越发个性化、成熟以及细分的需求。也正由于此,Vogue中国一直致力于将国际文化介绍到中国,并将之与中国的特色相连。言及未来,张宇说:“中国会继续快速地成长、转变、进步……而值得重申的是,中国的规模如此巨大,其中蕴含的机会是无限的。”

 

Chloé总裁Geoffroy de la Bourdonnaye和艺术总监Clare Waight Keller介绍了Chloé如何利用科技与消费者保持更紧密的联系。Geoffroy提及了当今的“Chloé girl”所具备的特质,以及Chloé“释放女性的力量”的目标和任务。Clare指出了数字化的手段在与顾客交流过程中的重要性,并透露Chloé正在策划推出更加个性化、情感丰富走心的数字化传播与营销方案。

 

会上,康泰纳仕时尚设计培训中心向奢牌大佬们介绍了培训中心为国际奢侈品品牌针对中国市场的业务经理、总监开设的高管培训课程:奢侈品牌决胜中国市场。课程围绕品牌、消费者和数字化工具三个核心内容展开,讨论奢侈品牌在中国市场成功关键的洞察与实践。

其他与会发言人还包括:

 

  • Tiffany首席执行官Frédéric Cumenal
  • Salvatore Ferragamo首席执行官兼集团常务董事Michele Norsa、总监Leonardo Ferragamo和Stefania Ricci
  • Wired Consulting总监Sophie Hackford
  • Hermès首席执行官Axel Dumas
  • Kering集团奢侈品腕表及珠宝首席执行官Albert Bensoussan
  • Delfina Delettrez创始人Delfina Delatrez Fendi
  • Venyx创始人兼创意总监Eugenie Niarchos
  • Repossi创意总监Gaia Repossi
  • SeeMe创始人Caterina Occho
  • Van Cleef &Arpels主席兼首席执行官Nicholas Bos
  • Havas Media Group Italy和旗下品牌Lux Hub的全球首席执行官 Isabelle Harvie-Watt
  • Fiera Digitale和e-Pitti.com首席执行官Francesco Bottigliero
  • Christies资深副总裁、钟表领域国际零售总监Reginald Brack
  • Jeremy Scott创始人、Moschino的创意总监Jeremy Scott
  • Vogue日本自由时装编辑Anna Dello Russo
  • J W Anderson创始人、Loewe的创意总监J W Anderson
  • Emilio Pucci首席执行官Laudomia Pucci
  • Officina Profumo Farmaceutica di Santa Maria Novella总裁兼合伙人Eugenio Alphandery
  • Ermanno Scervino创始人兼创意总监Ermanno Scervino
  • MCM首席顾问官Sung-Joo Kim

 

研讨会最后,Suzy Menkes宣布,下一届康泰纳仕国际奢侈品研讨会将于2016年4月在韩国首尔举行。首尔市长Park Won Soon表示,首尔作为韩国时尚、奢侈品行业的中心,很高兴能入选下一届研讨会的主办城市。这一全球最顶级的奢侈品行业峰会在首尔举行,必将为推进首尔成为全球最有影响力的时尚之都起到里程碑式的重大作用。

 

更多2016首尔第二届康泰纳仕国际奢侈品研讨会信息将在今后陆续发布。康泰纳仕时尚设计培训中心执行总监Dominique Simard、商业与传播系学术总监Philip Cacouris届时也将参会。